Sleep Training With Roommates

Sleep training my 7 month old son is going to be difficult. Not only because I have been having him sleep in my bed with me for the last couple months, but also because I live in the master bedroom in a house full of working roommates. I’ve researched different sleep training methods like the Ferber and Weissbluth methods. Sorry roommates, both these methods has crying involved and will keep the house up for 1-4 nights. The Ferber method involves putting your baby in his crib BEFORE they show signs of being sleepy and when he starts crying wait 3 minutes before checking on him. Then wait 5 minutes, 10 minutes, and so on. According to Baby 411 by Fields & Brown, this method should only take 2-4 nights to be successful. The Weissbluth method is a little more mean for my roommates sake. It involves letting your baby cry and cry and cry until he finally falls asleep on his own. No checking on him, comforting him, nothing. Just putting him down BEFORE he gets sleepy and thats it. This method takes only 1-2 nights to be successful though. There are many other methods but these 2 are the most recommended. So which one should I do?????

Also, how do I sleep train Danny if I sleep in the same room as his crib?

The Babysleepsite.com has some great articles that help with sleep training and when you share a room. 7 Tips or Sleep Training While Room-Sharing is one of them that has been really helpful. They suggest sleeping in another room (in my case, a couch) for the few nights your sleep training your baby or putting up a sheet to divide your room so your baby can’t see you. I tried putting a sheet over the crib instead, and ended up giving up because I felt like I had put him in a closed box.

So, I think I am going to just warn my roommates and give it a try the Ferber method next weekend. I sleep just have to sleep on the couch for the 4 nights (sigh). Anything for my baby!!! And if my roommates really can’t take the crying, I could try sleep training Danny at Grandmas House, while she’s at work, so I have the house to myself and the crying will only bug the hell out of me!

WISH ME LUCK!!!!!

 

Comment

